Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC)

Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC) is the second largest country in Africa (after Algeria). It borders Algeria, Burundi, Central African Republic, Republic of the Congo, Rwanda, South Sudan, Tanzania, Uganda and Zambia. The climate is varied across the country, being tropical in equatorial river basin, cooler and drier in southern highlands and cooler and wetter in eastern highlands. DRC is incredibly resource rich including e.g. cobalt, diamonds, gold and uranium. Moreover, DRC hosts Africa’s most active volcano (Nyamuragira) which had its latest eruption in 2010.

Key Water Issues and Challenges

  • Periodic droughts in south
  • Seasonal flooding of Congo river
  • Water pollution
  • Mining of minerals (coltan, diamonds, and gold) causing environmental damage

Contact GWP DRC

Ms. Ruth Beukman, Regional Coordinator

More Information

AQUASTAT -FAO's Information System on Water and Agriculture

UN-Water Statistics


Posted: 2012-07-25

Subscribe to this page - RSS

Choose language


Your email address and name are required, and if you wish you may give the details of your organisation and country to allow us to identify information of interest for you for future newsletters.

You may of course unsubscribe at any time.