“Water for Life” Best Practices Award

Posted: 2011-01-10

The United Nations Office to Support the International Decade for Action “Water for Life” 2005-2015/UN-Water Decade Programme on Advocacy and Communication (UNW-DPAC) and the UN World Water Assessment Programme (WWAP) are pleased to invite you to submit your Best Practice for the 1st edition of the “Water for Life” Best Practices Award. Deadline for receipt of submissions: 30 January 2011.

The purpose of the Award is to promote efforts to fulfil international commitments made on water and water-related issues by 2015 through recognition of outstanding best practices that can ensure the long-term sustainable management of water resources and contribute to the achievement of internationally agreed goals and targets contained in the Millennium Development Goals (MDGs), Agenda 21 and the Johannesburg Plan of Implementation.

The prize is awarded yearly in two categories, one in best water management practices and another one in best participatory, communication, awareness-raising and education practices. Every year, special emphasis is being put on the theme selected for next World Water Day. In 2011, special focus is given to the topic "Urban Water Management". The prize will be awarded at a special ceremony on World Water Day, 22 March.

More information:


Premio de mejores prácticas “El agua, fuente de vida”

La Oficina de Naciones Unidas de apoyo al Decenio Internacional para la Acción "El agua fuente de vida" 2005-2015/Programa de ONU-Agua para la Promoción y la Comunicación en el marco del Decenio (UNW-DPAC) y el Programa Mundial de Evaluación de los Recursos Hídricos (WWAP) se complace en invitarles a presentar su mejor práctica a la 1ª edición del Premio de Mejores Prácticas “El agua, fuente de vida”. El objetivo del Premio es promover los esfuerzos para alcanzar los compromisos internacionales adquiridos con el agua y las cuestiones relacionadas con el agua para el año 2015 a través del reconocimiento de mejores prácticas que puedan garantizar una gestión sostenible a largo plazo de los recursos hídricos y contribuir a la consecución de los Objetivos de Desarrollo del Milenio (ODM), de la Agenda 21 y del Plan de implementación de Johannesburgo.

El premio se otorga anualmente en dos categorías, una en las mejores prácticas de gestión del agua y otra en las mejores prácticas de participación, comunicación, sensibilización y educación. Cada año, se hará especial énfasis en el tema seleccionado para el próximo Día Mundial del Agua. En 2011, se hará especial hincapié en el tema “Gestión urbana del Agua” El premio se entregará durante una ceremonia especial que tendrá lugar el Día Mundial del Agua, el 22 de marzo.

Choose language


Your email address and name are required, and if you wish you may give the details of your organisation and country to allow us to identify information of interest for you for future newsletters.

You may of course unsubscribe at any time.