New GWP Technical Committee Members

Posted: 2012-01-13

The GWP Technical Committee consists of up to 12 internationally recognised professionals selected for their experience in different disciplines relating to integrated water resources management. The Committee Chair is Dr Mohamed Ait-Kadi of Morocco.

The following four members are joining the Technical Committee as of 1st of January 2012 for a period of 3 years.

Prof. Kalanithy Vairavamoorthy Prof. Kalanithy Vairavamoorthy
Professor Kalanithy Vairavamoorthy of Sri Lanka is the founding Director of the School of Global Sustainability, the director of the Patel Centre for Global Solutions and a tenured professor in the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, at the University of South Florida, USA. He is also Professor of Sustainable Urban Water Systems at UNESCO-IHE and TU Delft, in the Netherlands. He was the director of SWITCH, a 25 million euro EU research project for Integrated Water Management for the City of the Future. Professor Vairavamoorthy is an expert in urban water systems operating under future global change pressures and their implications on water governance.

Prof. Oscar De Moraes Cordeiro NettoProf. Oscar De Moraes Cordeiro Netto
Professor Oscar De Moraes Cordeiro Netto of Brasil, as the President of the National Water Master Plan Commission (CTPNRH) and President of the Brazilian Water Resources Council (CNRH), will  support Technical Committee thinking on the practical implementation of IWRM and the concept of a "National Water Security Pact". Professor Cordeiro is currently a member of the GWP Steering Committee.

Prof. Eelco van Beek

Prof. Eelco van Beek
Professor Eelco van Beek of the Netherlands currently teaches IWRM at the University of Twente. Prof. van Beek was a professor in Modelling in Integrated Water Resources Management at the Delft University of Technology (1992 – 2004), and today leads the Delft Hydraulics research project on Integrated River Basin Management and water allocation under drought conditions. For 35 years he has worked on the interface between IWRM research and its application in the field, and been involved in implementing IWRM in a number of countries.

Dr. Madidio NiasseDr. Madiodio Niasse
Dr Madiodio Niasse is currently the Director of the International Land Coalition. From Senegal, Dr Niasse holds a doctorate in environmental sciences and  has qualifications in environmental and social impact assessment as well as public participation and conflict management. Dr Niasse has served as chairman of GWP West Africa and as such will bring a regional perspective for the operationalization of GWP’s knowledge chain.

The following Technical Committee members end their appointments as of 31 December 2011: Dr. Akiça Bahri, Mr Mike Muller and Mr Humberto Peña. More information about the Technical Committee.

Choose language


Your email address and name are required, and if you wish you may give the details of your organisation and country to allow us to identify information of interest for you for future newsletters.

You may of course unsubscribe at any time.