Geographical Scope

The Geographical Scope of GWPEA covers 9 countries in the Eastern Africa, the IGAD region and along the River Nile Basin

Through regional integration, the Country Water Partnerships in the nine countries work  to promote, develop and manage water, land and related resources in order to maximize economic and social welfare in an equitable manner to enhance the sustainability of vital ecosystems.

GWPEAf works with these country water partnerships to address water security issues and environmental challenges such as droughts, floods, food insecurity, climate change and water insecurity.

The countries include:

  • Burundi
  • Egypt
  • Eritrea
  • Ethiopia
  • Kenya
  • Rwanda
  • Somalia
  • Sudan and
  • Uganda 

GWPEAf has over 200 partners working in each of these countries.