Geographic Scope of Work

The Mediterranean, which literally means “sea between lands”, is bordered by countries sharing a mosaic of natural and human-made challenges, century-old traditions and customs as well as common experiences and shareable solutions.

The geographical scope of GWP-Med includes the following countries: • Albania • Algeria • Bosnia & Herzegovina • Croatia • Cyprus • France • North Macedonia • Greece • Italy • Israel • Jordan • Kosovo* • Lebanon • Libya • Malta • Mauritania • Monaco • Montenegro • Morocco • Palestine • Serbia • Spain • Syria • Tunisia • Turkey.

Egypt and Slovenia participate in major Mediterranean political processes, and may engage in regional policy dialogues and in action, as approapriate. In GWP's geographic distribution, Egypt is part of GWP East Africa and Slovenia of GWP Central and Eastern Europe.

* This designation is without prejudice to positions on status, and is in line with UNSCR 1244/1999 and the ICJ Opinion on the Kosovo declaration of independence.